Pressemeldungen Kommunikations-KonzeptePR-Agentur Public Relations ArchitekturLektorat Redaktion Korrektorat Verlage Architekten


Press information

Logo Perspektive Land



DETAIL Prize 2020 announced – Wanted:
Outstanding architecture

» Submissions from 2 March until 22 May 2020
» Prizes are awarded for architecture and construction
» For the first time an award for schools of architecture

DETAIL is awarding the international DETAIL Prize 2020, and in doing so once again recognising the importance of innovative details for the overall design concept.

Awarding prizes for architectural quality

The DETAIL Prize is awarded for future-oriented, innovative and authoritative projects with outstanding architectural and technical qualities. From 2 March to 30 April 2020, planners can submit projects realised anywhere in the world for all building types that are characterised by special details within a coherent overall concept. In addition to the main prize, for the first time a prize will be awarded for an outstanding project built by a school of architecture. The focus is on the development process and architecture as the implementation of teaching and research. Also on offer once again will be the popular DETAIL Readers' Prize, the winner of which will be chosen by DETAIL readers by means of an online vote. All the information on the competition such as contents, formalities, processing fees and digital submission is shortly available online at:

Setting international standards

As in previous years, DETAIL once again expects to receive 350 to 400 entries from more than 40 countries. The DETAIL editorial team will choose the most impressive projects from all the entries. In a second step, a high-calibre and international jury of experts will then select from the nominations the winners of the DETAIL Prize 2020. In addition to DETAIL Editor-in-Chief Sandra Hofmeister, the members of the jury will include Louisa Hutton of Sauerbruch Hutton (Berlin), Kim Herforth Nielsen of 3XN (Copenhagen), Anna Ramos of Mies van der Rohe Foundation (Barcelona) and Jacob van Rijs of MVRDV (Rotterdam). 

The winners of the DETAIL Prize 2018 were Heatherwick Studio (London) with their project Zeitz Mocaa in Cape Town and Harquitectes (Sabadell, Spain) for the Civic Centre Cristalleries Planell in Barcelona. The DETAIL Special Prize inside was awarded to Christensen & Co Architects and Rørbæk og Møller Arkitekter for the atrium of the Life Science & Bioengineering building at the Technical University of Denmark in Lyngby. The DETAIL Special Prize structure went to Undurraga Deves Arquitectos for the Chilean Pavilion at Expo 2015 in Milan. The DETAIL Readers' Prize went to RAW/deAbajoGarcia for their project Impluvium in Reinosa, Spain.

Celebrating architecture

The winning projects of the DETAIL Prize 2020 will be honoured at a public award ceremony on 20 November 2020 in Munich. They will also be presented at BAU 2021, the world's leading trade fair for architecture, materials and systems, in Munich in January 2021.

The prize is awarded every two years by DETAIL in cooperation with BAU as the main sponsor, and conceptual partners from the political arena and industry sponsors. The declared aim of the DETAIL Prize is to highlight the importance of architecture for society, to strengthen the role of architects in public, and to promote networking among architects, industrialists, developers and politicians.

DETAIL once again looks forward to receiving numerous exciting architectural projects.

All the information on the competition can be found online at


Opening date for entries              2 March 2020
Closing date for entries                22 May 2020 (new)
Jury meeting                                   26 June 2020
Reader voting                                 14 September - 30 October 2020
Award ceremony                           14  January 2021 during the BAU trade fair


Main sponsor