Pressemeldungen Kommunikations-KonzeptePR-Agentur Public Relations ArchitekturLektorat Redaktion Korrektorat Verlage Architekten

Press information

The DETAIL Prize 2016 is underway!

•    Submissions from 17 May until 30 June 2016
•    Now also for interior designers and civil/structural engineers
•    Symposium and gala event in November 2016

Munich, 14.06.2016 DETAIL The DETAIL Prize has once again been announced: From 17 May until 30 June 2016, architects from all over the world can submit their realized projects for all building types that are characterized by innovative details within a coherent overall concept. For the first time this year, two special prizes, DETAIL inside and DETAIL structure, will also be awarded in reflection of the two new formats of the DETAIL journal. Besides architects, interior designers, specifiers and designers as well as civil and structural engineers can now also submit their projects. Also on offer is the DETAIL Readers' Prize, the winner of which will be decided by the DETAIL readership by means of an online vote. All entries for the DETAIL Prize 2016 should be submitted online at www.detail-online. com/detailprize.

The DETAIL editorial team will choose the most impressive projects from all the entries. In July, in a second step, a jury of renowned experts, including Enrique Sobejano, Mike Schlaich, Gilles Retsin, Peter Ippolito and Daniel Lischer (Winner DETAIL Prize 2012) will from the nominations select the winners of the DETAIL Prize 2016.

At a public symposium to be held on 11 November 2016 in Berlin, the three winning projects for the main prize and the prize-winning projects for the other categories will be presented by the respective offices. The prizes will be handed over the same evening at a gala award ceremony. An exhibition of the selected projects at BAU 2017, the world's leading trade fair for architecture, materials and systems, in Munich in January 2017 will mark the conclusion of the DETAIL Prize 2016 competition.

The DETAIL Prize, this year being awarded for the seventh time in ten years, is awarded to futureoriented, innovative and standard-setting projects that have outstanding architectural and technical qualities. The winner of the DETAIL Prize 2014 was the Danish Maritime Museum, Copenhagen, designed by the BIG Bjarke Ingels Group. In total, 343 projects from 41 countries were submitted, which were evaluated by a renowned jury, which in past years has included star architects such as Valerio Olgiati, David Chipperfield and Lord Norman Foster.

The prize is awarded every two years by DETAIL in cooperation with BAU 2017 as the premium partner, Gartner as the main sponsor, conceptual partners from the political arena, and industry sponsors. This year for the first time, construction software manufacturer Orca is also on board as a sponsor. The declared aim of the DETAIL Prize is to highlight the importance of architecture for society, to strengthen the role of architects in public, and to promote networking among architects, industrialists, developers and politicians.

DETAIL once again looks forward to numerous submissions!

All the information on the competition can be found at


Opening date for entries17.05.2016
Closing date for entries30.06.2016
Jury meeting19.07.2016
Opening date for reader voting01.09.2016
Closing date for reader voting14.10.2016
Winners announced20.07.2016
Winners of the Readers' Prize announced18.10.2016


Prize-winner talks (public symposium)  11.11.2016
Awards ceremony (in the evening)11.11.2016


BAU 2017 exhibition
16 to 21.01.2017